We broke history again! The LDCC group has completed our very first January century! Honestly, the only reason why I got dressed that morning was to save face and look like I had intentions to ride. At 8am it was still raining and rain clouds were all over the place. Right before 9am Mark Thomas showed up and I was glad that I was dressed to ride so when I told him that I wasn’t riding he’d think that I at least had planned to ride. I wasn’t sure if I could convincing but before I could tell him anything, the sun came out. Out of nowhere! The ride was on! The ride started out nice. There was some wind but the sunshine made us forget about the wind. For hours, we were pinned down to 8-14 mph. After 3 hours on the bike, Mark reminded me that we only had ridden 40 miles. Because we’d taken a longer than usual rest breaks, it had been 4 hours since we left. It was going to be a long day. After we turned south, the ride started to get better. By the time we reached our lunch break at 50 miles, we’d been on the bike for 3 hours and 50 minutes. We knew we would be finishing in the dark but we would be turning into a tailwind immediately after lunch and knew our next 50 miles would take less than 3 hours. We were also excited that we would be getting our first January century. We probably could have made better time if I was in better shape. My legs felt good but I had limited power. I want to thank Mark for pulling me for 99 miles. I know, I know. I only pulled for 1 mile but it felt like 99 miles. Overall, it was a very good day and made for good conditioning.

By the way, the ride schedule and rider’s log have both been updated.

Weather Conditions

It went something like this: Sun, wind, rain, snow. Just kidding. It was more like: Sun, wind, freezing rain, more wind, tailwind, sleet, snow, rain, and snow.

Riders included:

Eric Overton Mark Thomas

January Century Riders included: Eric Overton and Mark Thomas.

 Newcomers included:  0

Riders  2  
Max. Miles  101 miles  
Temperature  32-47 degrees (with winds at 12-25 mph with  38 mph gusts)  
Close Calls  0  
Mechanical Failures  0  
Mishaps  0  
Fixed Gear, Single Speed, Cyclocross, or Mountain Bike  0  

“The only thing better than a 12 hour challenge is a 24 hour challenge.”            –John Clay

About Eric Overton

Long Distance Cyclist in the Cleveland area

2 responses

  1. Bryan Reyes says:

    You guys should get credit for two rides!

    Like