Hi All,

I try to avoid using this site to ask for donations, even though I sometimes don’t mind posting notices for fundraisers for others.  I believe that subscribers will become fatigued if there are too many posts asking for donations.

As you may know, legendary Danny Chew has had a terrible crash and is in critical condition at an Akron hospital.

Some background

I consider Danny a personal friend and when I first got into long distance cycling in 1999, the hero that I looked to for motivation was Danny.  When I first, finally met him at Calvin’s 12 Hour Challenge and at the Nat’l. 24 Hour Challenge that year, I was surprised that my superhero was a very personable, down-to-earth person.    Since then, we rode tours together and he has ridden his bike from Pittsburgh to ride our club, our Long Distance Cycling Cleveland group, and cycling friends of mine that he has met.  Over the years, I learned that he’s always interested in the progress of others in cycling and is always very encouraging.  Now that I think about it, he has become friends with a number of my cycling friends that I have introduced him to because of his likeable personality .  Like magic, when you mention his name in a conversation, you can’t do so without a smile.  I’m smiling now, thinking about it.

I want to personally ask you to consider giving some attention to the following links.  One link is a way to stay up-to-date on his progress.  The other is the article about his accident.  Please check out the articles and if it’s in your heart to do so, consider showing any support (whether it’s moral or financial) to his cause.  If it’s not convenient to give a donation, please show some moral support and while doing so, consider that this long distance cycling group was born out of the motivation that I’ve received from Danny and we owe him a little something.   “Pay it Forward”.

Thanks in advance for your consideration in this matter.

Eric

It’s easy to stay up-to-date—click the large “Follow Site” button at the top of Danny’s website and you’ll receive an email each time a new Journal entry is posted.

To go directly to Danny’s website:    www.caringbridge.org/visit/dannychew

For the article about the accident, copy and paste the link below:

http://www.post-gazette.com/life/cycling-pittsburgh/2016/09/05/Dirty-Dozen-founder-and-Million-Mile-Man-Danny-Chew-paralyzed-in-bike-accident/stories/201609050103

About Eric Overton

Long Distance Cyclist in the Cleveland area

One response

  1. Bryan Reyes says:

    Eric, I remember hearing you mention Danny during your rides. I wish I would have met him.
    Bryan

    Like