I was contacted by an associate who is forming a social group where they would spend time outdoors, get them some exercise, and participate in some activity that has a start-up skill level that is achievable by the group. They chose cycling and the group will consist of 5 to 11 women.  They will need training from the very basic levels.  Some of them have never ridden a bike and others haven’t been on a bike in decades.  They will need help in getting motivated, picking out bikes and gear, training indoors over the winter, and overcoming self-consciousness about body image, etc. As much as I would like to train them, I know that I will be too busy with my own training and busy organizing a group of my own.  I’m looking for several people who may be interested in helping this group.  They are planning to start in March and the motivated members will, meanwhile, do some indoor training.  I advised them to do 2 hours a week in the gym and build from there.  Their goal is to be able to do a 10 mile ride this spring/summer.  Thanks in advance.

About Eric Overton

Long Distance Cyclist in the Cleveland area

2 responses »

  1. Deltrece Daniels says:

    Hello, it was a pleasure speaking with you Eric about this subject. Here is the link to my Facebook page I mentioned during our conversation: http://www.facebook.com/3deecycles I will be willing to share my expertise and guidance.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eric Overton says:

      Name: cammie reynolds
      Email:

      Comment: Please put me in touch with this group of women (need email and phone number). I would like to get started with a beginning cycling group. If this is mainly a west side group, are you familiar with any east side groups I could contact as well. I work west side but live east side and would like to alternate between the two. Thx

      Like

Leave a Reply

