As Tim Furey (who rode from Rocky River) and Joe rolled in, I was trying to figure out how it felt out there and they both said that it wasn’t bad but it was damp.

However, before we could get started, James Parada “came down with a mechanical”.   I gave him some zip ties and duct tape (offered JB Weld and a sledge hammer also) and he started on the repairs that you see above. 

My first thoughts were, “Yes! Some content for the report!”   Then, I thought, “He went through a lot of trouble just to get out of riding.  It would have been easier to just say, “Hey guys, I need to get back home because of the wife wants me to go shopping”.  But to self-sabotage a perfectly good pair of shoes?  Come on!  (Honestly, I was jealous because I didn’t think of that one, over the years.

Once we started rolling, we were all happy that we were out riding but, immediately you could feel the moisture clinging to you. I was dressed for the temperature but after about ½ hour on the road, my base layers felt soaked as if I’d been sweating like crazy.  Halfway out on the course, it started to get a little cold because of the dampness.  It was looking like the 2 degrees of temperature rise that we got was going to be all that we were going to get.  That ended up being true.   On the very long stretch back east we were getting a little push.  And when we turned north you could feel that cold wind pushing back a little.  All in all, it was a good day to be out but not a good day to be far away from home.  The dampness made this ride somewhat unpleasant.  I was happy that I did it but was glad to be back home.  

Riders included:

Eric Overton
James Parada
Joe Ochmanski
Tim Furey

Newcomers included: 0

Riders 4
Max. Miles 74-100 miles
Temperature 35-37 deg. (with winds at 6-12 mph.) (N)
Close Calls 0
Mechanical Failures James P. broke a latch on his shoe. (On Purpose?) 😉
Mishaps 0
Fixed Gear, Single Speed, Cyclocross, or Mountain Bike 1

“The only thing better than a 12 hour challenge is a 24 hour challenge”   –John Clay

About Eric Overton

Long Distance Cyclist in the Cleveland area

Comments are closed.