Sunday

The weather looked very menacing at the start and there was only one rider. It was John H., a first time rider with us.  I went out to explain to him that we would normally have many more riders but it looks like there’s some real rain coming in and it was also Easter Sunday.  As I was talking to him and his friend, we also noticed that the flags were standing straight up.   That didn’t damper John’s motivation.  He was determined to put some long miles on his new bike.   I was amazed at his determination.  I was envious, but the weather and the concrete in my legs reminded me that the only “miles” I would get that day would be behind the lawn mower.

 Good morning Eric! I rode 115 miles, 3,648′ vertical gain, 15 mph avg, which I figured is okay for a solo ride at the distance. I managed to miss a few turns and become slightly lost but found my way back home. The wind was strong, from the south and occasionally gusty so I spent a lot of time in the drops. As it was Easter Sunday, I refueled at the 3 gas stations that I found along the way as places such as Cool Beanz were closed. Did I mention it was windy? Otherwise it was a very enjoyable ride!

Riders included:

John Hoopingarner

 Welcome to the group: John Hoopingarner

Riders 1
Max. Miles 115 miles
Temperature 70-80 deg. with winds at 15-25 mph (and gusts at 40 mph) (WSW)
Close Calls 0
Mechanical Failures 0
Mishaps 0
Fixed Gear, Single Speed, Cyclocross, or Mountain Bike 0

 

“The only thing better than a 12 hour challenge is a 24 hour challenge”   –John Clay

About Eric Overton

Long Distance Cyclist in the Cleveland area

Comments are closed.